two-story vs three-story condo

elliojc_IHB

Its my first time posting on here and I had a question and wanted your thoughts on it. I was not able to find anything regarding this topic so hopefully this won't be a double post.

I am currently looking to purchase a 3bedroom condo in Irvine either in Woodbury, Northpark, or Quail Hill. And I realize a lot of the condos are now 3 stories. What do you guys think the resale value of a condo will be on a 3 story condo vs a 2 story condo? Do you think think the value of a 2 story condo will be worth more compared to a 3 story condo in 5 years?

My initial thought was that a two story condo would be better and be worth more because it doesn't have a lot of stairs to deal with and it is probably more ideal for a family. But with so many 3 story condos here in Irvine being built, it doesn't seem like it is an issue in Irvine.

What are your thoughts???

From what I have seen, it only matters if you are selling in a retirement area. Otherwise, 3-stories tend to sell just as well as the 2 stories.

I my opinion three story condos were selling in the last few years... because EVERYTHING was selling in the last few years! People looked at square footage, no matter how it was configured. If given the option between a two or three story... I would choose the two story.

When I was touring the new communities in Irvine over the last few years. The first properties to sell out were the single story units, followed by the two story units.

I hate vacuuming stairs... :blank:

My wife and I don't even bother looking at the 3 story floor plans. They plans are extremely inconvenient and compacted in compared to same square footage 2 story floor plans. We already hate walking up 1 flight of stairs right now, so why would we want to bu a place that require more walking?

My opinion, third floor hot, first floor cold.