Admission to UCLA and Berkeley

PANDA_IHB

It seems that UCLA had more applicants (55,000) in 2008, than Berkeley (48,000). Is it more difficult to get accepted as an undergrad to UCLA than it is to Berkeley these days? When i was a high school student, I remember that I really wanted to attend UCLA. During my senior year, I applied out-of-state for UCLA's business/econ major and was not accepted. I ended up attending University of Michigan and majored in business there.

I remember they had a proposition 209, where it was tougher for Asian applicants to be admitted to UCLA than if you were to select hispanic or black on the application. Does that still exist today when considering admissions? How much tougher is it for an out-of-state student to be admitted compared to a Californian high school senior, or a Californian community college student transferring into UCLA? Is there such a thing as a back door major in UCLA like agriculture compared to a more competitive major like business/econ or engineering?

It is pretty amazing seeing that there are 33% Caucasion students compared to 40% Asian students for the freshmen class of 2005. I believe when i applied back in 1994, the student body was more 55% Caucasion students and 25% Asian. The demographics of the student body certainly have changed a lot over the past fifteen years.

I'm not sure how they decide admissions, but <a href="http://www.latimes.com/news/la-me-freshman2-2009feb02,0,5752009.story">this LA Times article</a> makes you wonder.

[quote author="PANDA" date=1234097809]It seems that UCLA had more applicants (55,000) in 2008, than Berkeley (48,000). Is it more difficult to get accepted as an undergrad to UCLA than it is to Berkeley these days? When i was a high school student, I remember that I really wanted to attend UCLA. During my senior year, I applied out-of-state for UCLA's business/econ major and was not accepted. I ended up attending University of Michigan and majored in business there.