Will I ever be able to buy?

4walls4me_IHB

<p>Hello,</p>

<p>This is my first post!</p>

<p>I'm fairly new to OC (1year) and am working at my first real job out of grad school. I would love to buy a home someday and am concerned that may never happen. Realistically, do you guys believe it is possible (w/o crazy loans) for a single person (current salary about 100K per year) to purchase a home (2+den or 3 bedroom, 1500sq. ft.+) or should I forget about it?</p>

<p>Even with prices coming down a little, there is nothing that I could afford comfortably that I would want to live in.</p>

<p>Is there hope?</p>

<p>Thank you for any input!</p>

<p>PS I might get married someday, but don't plan on having kids, so kids are not a factor.</p>

Start saving $$ for down payment. If the housing bears are correct, you'll be able to afford a house here in couple of years.

If not, then you can still rent and invest in real estate elsewhere. Irvine is just one city, there are many more out there in the world, plus countless other investment venues. Don't depend solely on your paycheque. Look for quality income property elsewhere that generates positive cash flow. When you've made enough, you can afford a nice house in Irvine without using exotic loans.

Most of my friends who said that they'd never have kids, changed their mind after they got married. I'm not saying that you'd change your mind too, but it's always good to be prepared and shop for homes in a kid-friendly area.