Sharkbite! (Plumbing)

davenlei

So I have a pinhole leak in a pipe in my garage ceiling.  I cut away the drywall and have located the pipe and leak.  I was considering the following three options:

1) Get a plumber.  Since I exposed the pipe and located the issue, repair will be about $130 sweating (soldering) a new section of pipe in place.
2) Getting a torch, flux, solder, steel wool and pipe joint (~$50) and sweating the section in place by myself. (I have a lot of PCB soldering experience and am considered an experienced handyman with the house/cars but have not sweated plumbing before).
3) Using a shark bite (gator bite, etc.) (~$8) to replace the pinhole leak pipe section without sweating the pipes.

I plan on living here a long time so I am leaning to solution #1 due to it not being too expensive and leaving it to someone who has sweated thousands of pipes in the past.

Anyone with experience doing #2 or #3 in the past?

Try contacting Peter @ P-ECO Plumbing:: - 949-600-0183.  I used him for a pipe leak and a he went above and beyond on fixing the problem.  He ended up doing some re piping for me at no extra cost.

I have done #2 (repiped 1 house, upgraded a 2nd) and #3 on my last job.  The sharkbites are handy, but don't save enough time to make them worth it IMO.  Maybe for a small splice like you're doing, but you still need to prep, measure, cut, etc.  And the surface condition of the pipe is more important for the sharkbites...worry about nicks and gouges.  I know they're certified, but I don't trust them completely.  My last repair was in a tall crawlspace and easily accessible, so if they leak, I can get to them.  Again, not worth it, and I won't use them again.  When you get copper fittings set in place and fitted together, it doesn't take much time to sweat them...a minute or so per fitting, even less if they're close together.  If  you spend the $50 on #2 you'll always have the stuff handy for future issues.