lowballing?

socalmd_IHB

What are everyone's thoughts on this given today's market? I've been thinking of throwing out some lowball offers in laguna niguel or newport coast.

Anyone have any success lowballing?

[quote author="socalmd" date=1213080092]What are everyone's thoughts on this given today's market? I've been thinking of throwing out some lowball offers in laguna niguel or newport coast.

Anyone have any success lowballing?</blockquote>
Really depends on how desperate the seller is to get out of the property. There are some banks that want to dump their REOs like a bad habit. You'll be hard pressed to get an individual seller (a warm body) accept a low ball offer especially if they have a significant amount of equity in the property. That being said, I think you'll have better luck in Laguna Niguel as it has more REOs than Newport Coast. PM me if you want to see some MLS listings (I'm a licensed agent but that isn't my day job as I work in the commercial real estate industry).

I get irritated when realtors tell me the bank is not going to take my offer on a short sale if it is too low. Well, then I will just take my business else where..... I am in no hurry to get a house, I would only purchase when the price is right and when I consider I have got myself a bargain (especially the way the economy is), I don't care if the lender or the seller is not happy with my offer, this is a buyers market, we are in control of what we want to pay, not what the banks tell us nor what the seller want..... we call the shots...... period!