Interesting Scenario

renbac_IHB

My Realtor submitted an offer on a property that I fell in love with back in early May. It was a short sale (not sure if that matters, but I thought I would mention it).

At the time my offer was submitted, the listing agent told my agent there were 5 offers, and I was the 5th. The offers would be closed after mine. The listing agent was going to stay true to the 1st offer because they had submitted back in March. But, if anything should happen, she would stay in touch.

In the mean time, my agent said that she would write a letter on my behalf. Being a writer by trade, I wrote one as well. The listing agent responded by saying that she recognized how committed I was, and to hang in there, as the buyers were "foreigners from Garden Grove, as was their agent, and there was a huge language barrier and the buyers and their agent were getting very impatient." She said it looked like they were going to back out and assured me that if anything were to happen I was guaranteed to be next in line.

Fast forward to June. The middle three offers had backed out by then. It was between the other buyers and I (supposedly). By this time, according to the listing agent, an inspection had been performed and there was termite damage of $800 that the buyers didn't want to pay for, and it looked as if the sale was not going through.

Well, lo and behold, the sale went through, and that should be the end of the story, right?

Not really. Today I looked at the listing on Redfin's new-and-improved site and saw that it sold for exactly what I offered. Not only that, but the buyer's agent was also the listing agent.

I'm pissed more than anything because this wasn't disclosed. The agent went through this whole cockamamie story about a language barrier, impatient buyers, I was next in line, yada yada. If she had said that she was the selling AND buying agent I would have moved on. I feel like she strung me along for no reason.