Help - new to Irvine!

<p>Greetings! I am new to Irvine and have been reading your blog since we found out we were moving here. We are currently in the process of starting to look for a home and very concerned. We are in a situation where numerous factors make renting difficult - young kids, lots and lots of belongings that need to be unpacked, relocation benefits that are disappearing (not only closing costs but also storage time for out stuff, etc) so we really cannot wait for a long time to make a decision. The most likely scenario is that we will be here between 4 and 7 years before we move. We do not want to commute to work so we want to live in Irvine.</p>

<p>So, my question is - is anyone seeing prices out there that seem to be bottoming out? I read someone's post that suggested support at $300/sq foot. That would set a 2000 sq ft home (what I want) at 600,000. </p>

<p>Any ideas or help is so greatly appreciated!</p>

I have not seen any reasonable evidence to suggest prices are bottoming and available evidence would indicate that prices have just started to move downward and will continue in that direction.

movingaround,

You probably know you have stumbled into a bear's den. Read some of the links in the newbies post, and you will understand why many here believe prices are going to continue to fall. Try to remain objective as you look at the market. It is easy to find confirming data points for something you <em>want </em>to believe. There will not be support at $300 / SF. There may be support at about $200 / SF when rents align with the cost of ownership, but not before.

If you buy now, you will probably be underwater in 4 to 7 years when you want to move again.