Good restaurants in the General Irvine Area

arctichaze_IHB

I know this is a real estate forum but based on the Tustin thread apparently a lot of us love good food as well.

I am new to Orange County I just moved here 1 year ago from Ventura County so I’m pretty clueless regarding good restaurants. Since I’m holding off on buying a house for the next few months I guess I can afford to go out and have a dinner date with the wife a few times a month.

Food connoisseurs share with us your best restaurants! I need a good stake restaurant and please don't mention Ruth and Chris coz that is one over priced piece of meat. I think your paying more for the ambiance than the food.

I pulled some of the entries from the other thread.

1. Honda-Ya is a neat yakitori place, I prefer shinsengumi but these places take a long time to get your food, so I wouldn't recommend taking any "fast food nation" friends who start popping veins if they don't get their food in 5 min.

2. Ango Tei at theSouth Coast Plaza area 675 Paularino for sushi (ask for the "shrimp boat" sushi)

3. The Japanese BBQ place at 891 Baker (at Baker & Bear)

4. Desert at Cafe Blanc (www.cafeblanc.us)

5. To get even better stuff, you'd have to drive to Torrance/Lomita to places like Tamaen ($$). Itadakimasu!

6. Pina's Bistro on First and Yorba for Italian food. Mom cooks and runs it while the daughters cook and serve. Make reservations on the weekends and ask what was made that day. She makes her own pasta and sausage and they will make anything else you want that's available.

7. http://blacksheepbistro.com/which is Mediterranean food and the Chef Rick Boufford and his wife Diana go to Europe every year to get new ideas. Every Wednesday he does a special dish which follows a seasonal change but everytime I try to make reservations they have no more room. In my opinion Black Sheep is one of the top five restaurants in OC. I would compare it to Pascals and Golden Truffle.