Does graduating from a magnet school help you to go to an Ivy league or a UCLA/USC/UCB?

Hello Everyone,

I have been a regular at this forum for quite sometime now. I have a question about the true value of high schools

If a kid goes to Troy Tech ( A magnet school in Fullerton ranked in Top 25 in USA), does his chances of landing in any ivy league or a USC/UCLA increase? If the same kid goes to Irvine High and does very well with APs, P-SAT and SAT, is he going to be at a disadvantage compared to kids who graduate from a magnet school like Troy Tech ( or Uni High)?

Thanks

I would think it has more to do with the student then the school. Better high schools put more kids in better colleges because smarter, hardworking students attend those high schools.

<p>I am no expert but I did work at a small private college for awhile (although not in admissions) and my personal opinion is that I want my kids to go to a good high school but unless there were other circumstances I will not go to crazy attempts to get them in the 'best' high school - my reason is that my sense of admissions is that they are looking for kids that not only have straight A's but also have numerous other accomplishments, i.e, debate team, sports, church, leadership, research, etc. etc...... I know this may sound bad but I want the A's to come easy for my children - so that they can focus on getting all those other things that colleges seem to be looking for these days. So, a high school that was too competitive in the classroom would not be my ideal. On the other hand - some magnet schools will provide all those extra opportunities which would be great. For me I will balance all these issues with my child's temperment and what is available at the time.</p>