Discouraged future first-time home owner, any advice?

desertgrl_IHB

Hi Everyone--

I've been to the blog here a couple times but this is my first time posting. Sorry if this type of question gets asked a lot but it's really been consuming me lately and I didn't see another post with our specific situation.

We moved to Woodbury Square almost a year ago and we absolutely love it here! We would love to buy a house in Irvine (Preferablly Orchard Hills, Portola Springs, Woodbury, or Quail Hill that's about 750 to 800,000) but I'm not sure that is ever going to be possible. We really want to have a house by the time our daughter turns 5 (she's 2 right now), we're 29 right now, we make about 125,000 but we have some credit problems, 2 car payments, a couple credit cards and other payments plus crazy expensive daycare. Right now we are working on paying everything off and fixing our credit and plan to have everything paid off, decent credit and about 40,000 in savings in Fall of 2011. We should also be making more by then, probably closer to 145 or 150,000. That's also when our daughter would start Kindergarten so no more daycare, or really cheap daycare! If things go as planned we should be able to afford a 4500 mortgage.

We were thinking that since Orchard Hills is supposed to open at the same time that it would be perfect and we could buy a new house there. Then, I started doing some research and found that with what we make now, even if we had really good credit and no kind of debt that we would only be able to buy a 1 bedroom condo (if that!) in the aforementioned villages. I grew up in Victorville in a brand new tract home on 1/2 an acre which originally cost 65,000! The thought of paying 500,000 for a 1 bedroom condo just makes me want to barf! LOL