Buying New Construction 101?

ChiKid24

Hey all.  Been lurking for awhile and figure it's time to post.  My family is looking to move to the OC and Irvine is top of list.  We've been pre-qualified with most of the homebuilders in Orchard Hills, Altair and Cadence Park.  We're in no rush to move so essentially waiting out phases to move up the priority lists and grab a lot we like.

That brings me to the question / topic for the thread.  While I have bought a house before, it wasn't new construction.  So I'm a newbie in this area and wondering if there's more to it than just getting on a list, waiting for the lot/property we want, hoping to get called, and putting down my deposit.  It feels like most of these communities don't allow any price negotiation, but potentially there are other benefits?  I've heard to ask for upgrade incentives, but is that even possible if there's others on the list that don't require?  Also I wasn't planning on using a realtor as I've basically already identified the neighborhoods and gotten on the lists.  But should I?  Are there any advantages in doing so?

Essentially I'm looking for a "Buying New Construction 101", or at least some things I need to think through so I'm prepared for when my name comes up and I'm ready to pull the trigger.  Feels like the right forum to get some thoughts, especially if there is anything unique to the Irvine new home buying experience.  Appreciate any help in advance!

Sign up with a realtor. Preferably one that gives rebates on new home commission. Like USCTrojanCPA (Martin). There should be a sticky post about this on the site. No sense in leaving free money on the table even if you know exactly what you want and don?t need an realtor.

ChiKid24 said: