buying dilemma

financeguy_IHB

I'm a young professional living and working in Irvine. I've been living with my parents for the past 2.5 years (after graduating college) in order to save for a down payment. Now that I have enough for a down payment, I'm definitely ready to move out and buy a place (500K or less).

Here is my dilemma:

I actually like to live in places that are more "alive" like the condos on Jamboree & Michelson or in neighborhoods where there are people talkingwalking at 10pm. However, I think those places (condos) are the exact places which will depreciate most in value, rather than boring 1970s SFRs in university park, walnut, and northwood which I can also afford. Also maybe several years down the line, I would have a family and prefer the "boring" SFRs in the older neighborhoods, but not now. I want to stay in Irvine and do not want to go further south (too far from LA).

Do you have any recommendations? Your advice will be greatly appreciated.

If you are concerned about depreciation in the next few years wouldn't it make sense to rent in the short term? You'll be purchasing the same thing for less money down the line. Plus, this has the added benefit of allowing your savings to grow in the interim.

<p>Buying now would be plain stupidity. This year and next will be the greatest YOY drops of the crash (followed by several years of smaller drops). </p>

<p>I want to jump off a cliff, should I wear a sweater or cardigan?</p>

The reason I think it would be better to buy now vs rent is because if I buy, my "rent" will be going toward the mortgage and I would be saving on taxes. And more importantly, although I think the value of condos (SFR less) will continue to depreciate over the next year, I think interest rates are actually going to go up (because of inflation and depreciating USD). Since I will be using 80% financing that might be a problem.