Case-Schiller for Costa Mesa

I was looking for a while .. got depressed looking at everything being overpriced.

There are some homes in terrible condition and sellers still asking insane amounts. Have you been inside the home on Olympic? It's mad jacked up. You're basically buying land. I think the entire foundation is worthless. But I'm not a professional, so eh .. maybe it's still worth it for a broken lot w/the freeway on the other side of the wall.

I've not been in that Olympic house (the one priced at $320, "contractors special", no?) I personally won't live within 1/3 of a mile to the 405 fwy. too much exhaust and noise have been shown to be very detrimental to one's health.

I agree that it is depressing how the prices have arrested. I don't think that they can hold much longer, though.

Yes, contractor's special. The foundation looks like a 8.0 horizontally ripped through the lot. Then you see the kitchen floor has a hole in it .. which I'm guessing is someone sprung a nice water leak which they fixed by going through the kitchen, but too late ..

Bottom line is - it's bad. You'd have to sink so much cash into it .. good luck getting loans for that sucker.

I went to zillow to see what our house was valued at in 2000 and then multiplied that by 1.86 and came up with $372K, which in nominal terms would be early 2003. If I adjust that $372K for 5 years of inflation, it comes out to $441K, which is the nominal equivalent of 2004. So if we are looking at where we are in real terms, are we back to early 2003? Or do you already account for inflation with your CS formula?

CS does not adjust for inflation, though you could predict that the value would rise due to it.

Of course, then we get back to the question of for housing, what measure of inflation should we be using? CPI? some measure of CPI less energy? wage inflation?

anyway, its absolute. CS=100 is jan 2000 prices.

Any guesses what the measure will be in Jan 2009?