Author Topic: How do I setup http links?  (Read 2026 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline iacrenter

  • Certified Irvine Addict
  • ****
  • Thanks
  • -Given: 385
  • -Received: 584
  • Posts: 2994
  • Gender: Male
How do I setup http links?
« on: December 03, 2009, 12:21:00 AM »
I was used to the old IHB link function that allowed me to highlight a word and make it link to another website. How do I do that at TI?

Thanks in Advance.

Offline stng

  • Newbie
  • Thanks
  • -Given: 0
  • -Received: 0
  • Posts: 5
How do I setup http links?
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2009, 03:02:00 AM »
If you reply, it's the earth looking icon in the "Add Tags" section. 2nd row, 3rd one across in my browser. Just highlight the text and click on the icon to make it a link.

Test Link:
http://talkirvine.com

Offline graphrix

  • Yearning for 949 / 714
  • **
  • Thanks
  • -Given: 1
  • -Received: 1
  • Posts: 162
How do I setup http links?
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2009, 03:32:00 AM »
word Highlighted "word" and it just added the URL code without an option to add a link.

It doesn't work like that in Firefox. You need to know some basic code.

word
« Last Edit: December 03, 2009, 03:33:00 AM by Anonymous »

Offline SoCal

  • Certified Irvine Addict
  • ****
  • Thanks
  • -Given: 1802
  • -Received: 1477
  • Posts: 7120
How do I setup http links?
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2009, 09:34:00 AM »
I don't know, but I've just been typing it manually like this:

[ url= http://www.URLHERE.com ]CHECK OUT THIS LINK[ /url ] but with no spaces in the text between brackets. Had to put spaces so you could read this. Otherwise it would do this:

CHECK OUT THIS LINK
« Last Edit: December 03, 2009, 09:37:00 AM by Anonymous »

Offline iacrenter

  • Certified Irvine Addict
  • ****
  • Thanks
  • -Given: 385
  • -Received: 584
  • Posts: 2994
  • Gender: Male
How do I setup http links?
« Reply #4 on: December 04, 2009, 01:51:00 AM »
Quote from: "SoCal78"
I don't know, but I've just been typing it manually like this:

[ url= http://www.URLHERE.com ]CHECK OUT THIS LINK[ /url ] but with no spaces in the text between brackets. Had to put spaces so you could read this. Otherwise it would do this:

CHECK OUT THIS LINK

Thanks for the html coding lesson. I was also hoping for the 'Easy' button to create a link as well. Oh well...

Offline greencactus

  • Tourist
  • *
  • Thanks
  • -Given: 0
  • -Received: 0
  • Posts: 29
How do I setup http links?
« Reply #5 on: December 04, 2009, 10:57:00 AM »
If you're using Firefox you should install the Linkification add-on. It turns anything that looks like a URL into an actual link. Takes care of those lazy folks that are too lazy to post a link (instead of just the address).

Hand coding your tags is so 1990s  :P

 

Talk Irvine Links

[Recent Posts]
[FAQ / Rules]

Site Supporters


Related Links

Recent Posts

Re: God? by Panda
[Today at 02:35:06 PM]


Re: God? by Panda
[Today at 02:23:46 PM]


Re: Year round elementary schools by zubs
[Today at 12:08:01 PM]


Re: Tesla Solar Panels Price Cut by zubs
[Today at 12:02:25 PM]


Year round elementary schools by aziwoqpd
[Today at 11:28:15 AM]