Hot Garage

lovinLife

Wondering if anyone has any experience adding ventillation to a garage.  Ours gets really hot and there's no opening for any airflow unless the garage door is open or the door to the house.  I'm thinking a small simle rectangular hole with vent cover would work wonders but I'm no expert.

Any help appreciated.

I thought most garages had at least one or two ventilation holes.

Ours has one up near the water heater... but it still gets hot.

How much effort would it be to install a fan that draws hot air out and cool air in? Also doing it discreetly so you don't have to get HOA approval nor would they be able to see anything from the outside. I've always wanted to put one in the attic of the home as the 2nd floor gets really hot in the summer time.

That will defeat the purpose of weather strip they put on around garage door opening and door.
Having said that, ours get very hot, and having insulation doesn't help (I opted for additional insulation which covers garage).
What I do though is that I crack open garage door about an inch or two, obviously only when I'm at home.

We installed a retractable screen door in our garage for the door going from the garage to the backyard, I just leave that door open and the garage is a lot cooler.

Retractable screen doors are approved by our HoA.

I got it installed with our shutters since the shutter company we used also do retractable screen doors.

But I think you can get it cheaper from Lowe's and Home Depot.

Could you use something like what is used for clothes dryer vent?  That has a screen to prevent vermin from entering the house

Tyler Durden said:
Just as a heads up: a mouse can get into a space via a crack 1" or more.  A rat can enter a space with a 1.5" crack.