$850k-$1.3mill house wanted, but WHERE??

Deezy455

Hi everyone!
I am a complete newbie to Orange County, as I'm originally from the Bay Area.  My wife and I are looking to  buy a house here, as we love the safety of it and the houses seem very nice.  We have a 1.5 yo and are expecting another one in May.  I would really love some of your help with location and/or finding a house!
My wife works in downtown LA, and I work in commerce, so somthing closer to LA (but still in OC) would be nice.
Here's some things we are looking for:
- 4 bedroom
- love new builds, but not limited to brand new as long as it's no older than 15 years old.
- good schools
- not too far from LA
- safe neigborhood to walk around
- parks nearby for the kids

Any help at all is GREATLY APPRECIATED as I don't even know where to start looking!
Thanks!!

Congrats on your new addition. Do you currently live in OC and do you have a feel for the traffic? I occasionally commute to LA and it can take 2.5 hours each way. My suggestion would be to look near the Irvine (or Tustin) Metrolink station so your wife can go by train to Union Station. The Irvine station is also close to Great Park, good school district, etc.

Cerritos.

Great neighborhood feel. Good schools and feels like "OC"

the drive from Irvine to LA/Commerce is horrible and you will find yourself getting burned out within a month.

The train is nowhere near as frequent or reliable (and expensive ~$280 from Tustin to Union station) as Caltrain. And there is no such thing as a bullet train down here. Good luck with the move

IrvineBS said:
Cerritos.

Great neighborhood feel. Good schools and feels like "OC"

the drive from Irvine to LA/Commerce is horrible and you will find yourself getting burned out within a month.

The train is nowhere near as frequent or reliable (and expensive ~$280 from Tustin to Union station) as Caltrain. And there is no such thing as a bullet train down here. Good luck with the move